## Mississippi Supreme Court Justices

Mississippi has a two-tier appellate court system that reviews decisions of law and fact made by the trial courts. The Mississippi Supreme Court is the court of last resort among state courts. Decisions of the Chancery, Circuit and County Courts and of the Court of Appeals may be appealed to the Supreme Court. Appeals which go directly to the Supreme Court include annexations, bond issues, constitutionality challenges, death penalty cases, disciplinary matters involving attorneys and judges, election contests, certified questions from federal court, utility rates, cases of first impression and issues of broad public interest. Nine Supreme Court justices are elected from three districts. Non-partisan elections are staggered so that not all positions are up for election at once.

Supreme Court justices serve eight-year terms.

Justice	Age	Date of Birth	Year First on Court	Re-election	Election History	District
Chief Justice Mike Randolph *BIPEC Recommended in 2004, 2012, 2020	74	12/4/1946	2004	2028	Appointed by Gov. Haley Barbour in 2004 / won re-election in 2004, 2012 & 2020	District 2 Place 3
Presiding Justice Jim Kitchens	77	4/29/1943	2009	2024	Elected in 2008 / Re-elected in 2016	District 1 Place 3
Presiding Justice Leslie King	72	1/17/1949	2011	2028	Appointed by Gov. Haley Barbour in 2011 / won re-election in 2012 & 2020	District 1 Place 2
Associate Justice Josiah Coleman *BIPEC Recommended 2012 & 2020	48	11/3/1972	2013	2028	Elected in 2012 & 2020	District 3 Place 3
Associate Justice Jimmy Maxwell *BIPEC Recommended in 2016	45	5/4/1975	2016	2024	Appointed by Governor Bryant in 2016 / won re-election in 2016	District 3 Place 2
Associate Justice Dawn H. Beam *BIPEC Recommended in 2016	56	5/15/1964	2016	2024	Appointed by Governor Bryant in 2016 / won re-election in 2016	District 2 Place 2
Associate Justice Bobby Chamberlin	55	4/6/1965	2017	2024	Elected in 2016	District 3 Place 1
Associate Judge David M. Ishee *BIPEC Recommended to COA in 2008 & 2016	57	10/29/1963	2017	2026	Appointed by Gov. Haley Barbour to the COA in 2004 / won re-election in 2008 & 2016 / Appointed to the SC in 2017 by Governor Bryant / *this seat is up for election in 2026 but the term doesn't begin until 2028	District 1 Place 2
Assocoate Judge T. Kenneth Griffis  *BIPEC Recommended in 2006 & 2014 for COA / Supported for SC 2016 / Supported for SC in 2020	59	9/9/1961	2019	2028	Elected to COA in 2002 and re-elected in 2006 & 2014. Ran unsuccessfully for SC in 2016. Appointed to SC by Governor Bryant in 2019 / Supported in 2020 / *this seat is up for election in 2028 but the term doesn't begin until 2030	District 1 Place 1

## **Supreme Court District 1**

Bolivar, Claiborne, Copiah, Hinds, Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena, Jefferson, Kemper, Lauderdale, Leake, Madison, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Rankin, Scott, Sharkey, Sunflower, Warren, Washington, Yazoo

## **Supreme Court District 2**

Adams, Amite, Clarke, Covington, Forrest, Franklin, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marion, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Simpson, Smith, Stone, Walthall, Wayne, Wilkinson

## **Supreme Court District 3**

Alcorn, Attala, Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, Coahoma, Desoto, Grenada, Itawamba, Lafayette, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Oktibbeha, Panola, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Quitman, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Tunica, Union, Webster, Winston, Yalobusha